Downloadable eBooks, Audiobooks and Music
-
OverDrive
- A downloadable audiobook and eBook service offered by the Westchester Library System.
-
Freading
- A downloadable eBook service offered by the Westchester Library System.
-
Freegal
- A downloadable music service that the Westchester Library System
subscribes to. All you need to access the service is your Westchester
Library card.
-
TumbleBooks
- An online collection of animated, talking picture books, reading
comprehension quizzes, educational games and teacher resources for
libraries.
-
OneClickDigital
- A collection of approximately 4,000 audiobooks for unlimited and instant download to your MP3 player or iPod.
-
Project Gutenberg - A collection of free eBooks.
-
Google Books -
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers
worldwide using Google Book Search. Discover a new favorite or unearth
an old classic.
-
Free Music Archive
- The Free Music Archive provides free, high-quality, music in a wide
range of genres. The content on Free Music Archive is used under various
creative commons licenses. The New York State Music Fund provided
initial funding for FMA. FMA seeks to maintain a high-quality resource
through the use of selected curators who approve or deny all submissions
to the collection.
Research Tools
-
Academic OneFile
- The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the
world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of
the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and
other subjects.
-
Ancestry.com
(In-library access only) - Includes U.S. Federal census, American
genealogical biographical index, immigration list index and more.
-
Morningstar
Home Access
- Morningstar.com Library Edition offers proprietary stock and mutual
fund analysis, screening tools and portfolio-building features to
library patrons.
-
Literary Reference Center
- Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses from
authors of every discipline. Includes a research guide for literary
research.
-
Business Insights: Essentials
- Detailed company and industry news that includes profiles, company
histories, brand information, rankings and investment reports, etc.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals - A service that covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
-
Secrets of the Sequences: Video series on the Life Sciences
- With initial funding from the Pfizer Foundation and the National
Academy of Sciences, VCU has assembled 50 of the best videos from the
public television series, “Secrets of the Sequence” to assist teachers
in the application of genetic research across the biology curriculum.
Funding from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute has allowed for the
creation of additional videos, which are also included on this site.
Encyclopedias
Learn Online
-
Rocket Languages
- Rocket Languages is an award winning interactive online language
learning system. Library cardholders can learn conversational language
skills at their own pace. Languages offered include Spanish, Arabic,
French, German, Chinese (Mandarin), Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean,
Inglés (English for Spanish speakers), and American Sign Language.
-
Learning Express
- A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series. Instructions
-
Job and Career Accelerator
- A comprehensive online job search system.
-
Foreign Languages
- Are you interested in a foreign languages? Select the region in which
your language of interest is spoken, and get started today!
-
Health Tutorials - More than 300 educational videos with basic health information about illnesses or conditions, medical tests and procedures.
-
First Find - Has basic information on easy to read websites.
-
Learn English
- Practice and learn English using several websites that include:
Grammar, Vocabulary, Listening, Reading, Pronunciation and Writing.
Test your progress with games and quizzes.
-
Get Your GED
- Connect to websites that can help build your knowledge and skills you
will need to pass the GED. You will also find general information
about the GED and how to take the GED test in New York State.
-
Basic Computer Tips - How computers work and tutorials on how to use software.
- Research Tools
-
Encyclopedia of Animals (Full-text)
-
Searchasaurus - An interactive and education source for elementary & middle-school students.
-
Literary Reference Center
- Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses from
authors of every discipline. Includes a guide for literary research
-
LexisNexis - Home Access - Search the news from 1980 to the present, look up legal cases, and get company information all from one location. Note: Legal cases are not searchable from home.
Requires a library card
Paid for with Central Library funds